Frequently Asked Questions in Texas DWI
- I have three DWI offenses within five years, what will
happen to my license?
If your license is suspended as a result of a DWI conviction and the
offense dates occurred within 5 years of each other, a new Texas law
will prohibit you from even obtaining an Occupational Drivers
license for work, school or household duties for a period of one
- How many hours of alcohol related classes and community
service will I have to do?
A first DWI conviction can impose 24 - 100 hours of community
service work. Additionally, you will have to complete a DWI
education class (two four hour classes) within 6 months of your
conviction to avoid a suspension of your driver license. In
addition, you will attend a one evening class called a Victim Impact
Panel as well.
- What if I burped within twenty minutes of my breath test?
The breath machine may have read alcohol from your stomach rather
than your breath and incorrectly reported a "false high"
- What types of things can affect a breath test?
The Intoxilyzer 5000 is not alcohol specific and other things may be
falsely reported as alcohol. The most common things that can affect
the breath test are: a) diabetes b) air bag deployment c) exposure
to certain chemicals in your job d) the Atkins high protein, low
carbohydrate diet e) extensive dental work (dentures, bridges, etc.)
and f) Gastro esophageal reflux disorder (G.E.R.D.)
Back to Texas DWI Front Page